Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Kristian tutors in Alexandria, VA

Kristian C.

Private tutor in Alexandria, VA

Education

Bachelor's of Science degree in Psychobiology from UCLA, 2012 Master's degree in Public Health (with a concentration in Maternal and Child Health) from Boston University School of Public Health, 2016

Experience

Hi there! I have tutored over my entire academic career, for students of all levels/ages and across a variety of subjects. I am particularly experienced in teaching elementary and middle school children. Science is my favorite subject. My most recent teaching position was as a Graduate Teaching Assistant at Boston University, where I received stellar feedback regarding my teaching skills from my students. I work hard to break down concepts so that I can pinpoint exactly where a student is having a disconnect with the information. I strike a balance between having fun and creating a relaxed environment so a student will not feel too much pressure, while still maintaining that study time needs to be productive. Since I have many years of experience working with students of all ages, I am generally able to find a way to connect with just about anybody. I make an effort to link subject matter to a particular topic that the student is passionate about, to increase engagement. Lastly, I ensure that students are prepared to learn - because even if they are able to write an essay or complete a problem set, they will not be successful without the organizational skills and thought processes to accomplish these tasks. By working structure into tutoring sessions, I help students create routines that work for them and that they can take with them throughout their academic career.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekends at any time, Weekdays after 7PM

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

In my personal time, I enjoy spending time outside, whether it be going to the beach, hiking, or enjoying the patio at a new restaurant! I like to read as well, and am happy that finishing graduate school now gives me more time to do so. I recently signed up for my first half marathon so I'm hoping that I can add running to my list of hobbies soon!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!